Amit Shah gets Home, Rajnath Defence in Modi Govt

New Delhi: A day after the incoming Union Council of Ministers was sworn in, portfolios were announced on Friday afternoon. Prime Minister Narendra Modi earlier sent the list of portfolios for his Council of Ministers to President Ram Nath Kovind, after which the same was unveiled.

On Thursday evening, Modi took oath as the PM for a second consecutive term. 57 other members of the Council of Ministers, including Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari and Sadananda Gowda, also took oath. A total of 24 Cabinet Ministers took oath at the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan, followed by nine Ministers of State (Independent Charge) and 24 Ministers of State. Here’s the full list of the Union Council of Ministers and their portfolios, under the Modi Government 2.0.

Prime Minister of India

Narendra Modi – Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy; Department of Space; all important policy issues; and all other portfolios not allocated to any minister

Cabinet Ministers

‏Rajnath Singh – Defence

Amit Shah – Home Affairs

Nirmala Sitharaman – Finance; Corporate Affairs

Subrahmanyam Jaishankar – External Affairs

Nitin Gadkari – Road Transport and Highways; Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

DV Sadananda Gowda – Chemical and Fertilizers

Ram Vilas Paswan – Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

Narendra Singh Tomar – Agriculture and Farmers Welfare; Rural Development; Panchayati Raj

Ravi Shankar Prasad – Law and Justice; Communications; Electronics and Information Technology

Harsimrat Kaur Badal – Food Processing Industries

Thawarchand Gehlot – Social Justice and Empowerment

Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank – Human Resource Development

Arjun Munda – Tribal Affairs

Smriti Irani – Women and Child Development; Textiles

Dr Harsh Vardhan – Health and Family Welfare; Science and Technology; Earth Sciences

Prakash Javdekar – Environment, Forest and Climate Change; Information and Broadcasting

Piyush Goyal – Railways; Commerce and Industries

Dharmendra Pradhan – Petroleum and Natural Gas; Steel

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi – Minority Affairs

Prahlad Joshi – Parliamentary Affairs; Coal; Mines

Mahendra Nath Pandey – Skill Development and Entrepreneurship

Arvind Sawant – Heavy Industries and Public Enterprise

Giriraj Singh – Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat – Jal Shakti

Ministers of State (Independent Charge)

Santosh Kumar Gangwar – Labour and Employment
Rao Inderjit Singh – Statistics and Programme Implementation; Planning
Shripad Yesso Naik – Ayurveda, Yoga and Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy (AYUSH); MoS Defence
Dr Jitendra Singh – Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region; MoS PMO; Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy; Department of Space
Kiren Rijiju – Youth Affairs and Sports; MoS Minority Affairs
Prahalad Singh Patel – Culture; Tourism
Raj Kumar Singh – Power; New and Renewable Energy; MoS Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
Hardeep Singh Puri – Housing and Urban Affairs; Civil Aviation; MoS Commerce and Industry
Mansukh L Mandaviya – Shipping; MoS Chemicals and Fertilizers

Ministers of State

Faggansingh Kulaste – Steel
Ashwini Kumar Choubey – Health and Family Welfare
Arjun Ram Meghwal – Parliamentary Affairs; Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises
General (Retd) VK Singh – Road Transport and Highways
Krishan Pal – Social Justice and Empowerment
Danve Raosaheb Dadarao – Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
G Kishan Reddy – Home Affairs
Parshottam Rupala – Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
Ramdas Athawale – Social Justice and Empowerment
Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti – Rural Development
Babul Supriyo – Environment, Forest and Climate Change
Sanjeev Kumar Balyan – Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries
Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao – Human Resource Development; Communications; Electronics and Information Technology
Anurag Singh Thakur – Finance; Corporate Affairs
Angadi Suresh Channabasappa – Railways
Nityanand Rai – Home Affairs
Rattan Lal Kataria – Jal Shakti; Social Justice and Empowerment
V Muraleedharan – External Affairs; Parliamentary Affairs
Renuka Singh Saruta – Tribal Affairs
Som Parkash – Commerce and Industry
Rameswar Teli – Food Processing Industries
Pratap Chandra Sarangi – Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises; Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries
Kailash Choudhary – Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
Debasree Chaudhuri – Women and Child Development

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *